Potlatch 17: Feb. 29 - March 2, 2008

Book of Honor

Potlatch chooses a Book of Honor for much the same sorts of reasons that some other conventions choose a Guest of Honor: to serve as a locus of common interest among attendees, as a seed to propagate fertile discussion, and as a jumping off point from which to explore new ideas. We aim to choose a book that has had a strong impact on our community, and will encourage engaging, informative conversations.

The Book of Honor Committee are very pleased to announce that we have selected Parable of the Sower, by the late Octavia E. Butler, as Book of Honor for Potlatch 17.

Past Potlatch Books of Honor:

Potlatch 2, 1993 : Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

Potlatch 4, 1995 : The Only Neat Thing to Do by James Tiptree, Jr.

Potlatch 5, 1996 : The Lathe of Heaven (video, based on the novel by Ursual K. Le Guin)

Potlatch 7, 1998 : The War of the Worlds by H. G. Wells

Potlatch 10, 2001 : Thunder and Roses by Theodore Sturgeon

Potlatch 12, 2003 : The Rediscovery of Man by Cordwainer Smith

Potlatch 13, 2004 : The Shockwave Rider by John Brunner

Potlatch 14, 2005 : A Scanner Darkly by Philip K. Dick

Potlatch 15, 2006 : The Avram Davidson Treasury edited by Robert Silverberg and Grania Davis

Potlatch 16, 2007 : Dimensions of Sheckley: the Selected Novels of Robert Sheckley